Making Myself Better Challenge… Day Two.

The Challenge:

1. No complaining. Think of one good thing that happened.
2. No spending money on unnecessary things
3. Exercise, exercise, exercise. I’ve been so focused on every single day that I’ve changed it to five days a week.
4. Eat healthy five days a week
5. Follow a strict routine during the work week

Today’s outcome:

1. I didn’t complain – Check. I have had several good moments today. First, I’ve got tickets to four concerts in the next few months which I’m so excited about. Second, something that I was dreading wasn’t that bad at all. Lastly, the weather was beautiful today.
2. No spending money unnecessarily – Check. Saving up for my “running to somewhere” fantasy. 🙂
3. Exercise – Check. I did an hour today until I almost fell down from weak legs. That makes me happy.
4. Eat healthy fives days a week – Half Check – I need to improve on this drastically but it wasn’t horrible. It just wasn’t as healthy as I’d like. I’ll get there though.
5. Follow a strict routine during the work week – Check. I have actually declined invitations knowing that I wouldn’t be able to get in my workout so I can absolutely check this off today.

So, today was a decent day that ended on a higher note than expected. That might be because I’m not complaining about anything. For the remainder of the evening I am going to finish up some other “to do” list that I’ve created, watch some TV and shop for a Mother’s Day gift and mom’s birthday since they are on the same day this year.

Here’s my final thought for the day though… Secrets. Is it possible to have a secret that some might consider so big and not tell anyone even though you think about it a lot? I had this one secret that I hated to have kept and for some reason I told my friend in the northeast the other day. I think I’d just reached a point where it had to come out. It was about a boy from a long long time ago and we were talking about growing up together and the people we knew. The funny thing there is that THE friend wasn’t brought up at all. It’s as if we talked about everyone except. I’m not sure why that is. He and I never discuss THE friend though. It’s almost as if he’s a taboo topic which neither of us dare bring up or because he has no idea that we even spend time together. The latter might be the case more so.

But back to secrets. So the one I told my friend the other night was something that had always bothered me. It was basically an innocent action of a young girl that had a horrible effect on an older boy. I realize that sounds ominous but I’m not sure that I’m ready to have that action here forever yet. But that’s not even my biggest secret. The one that I hold affects no one but me. Actually that’s probably not true. It would affect a lot of people but it’s an extremely personal one.

So, I guess my question is this. If you have a secret that you feel guilty over or one that you think about a lot. Is it ok to keep in inside your own head? Do you have to share it? I think that I’d shock a lot of people with it but it would also explain a lot of things about me… To keep or not to keep. That is the question. Maybe it’s a thing that I should only tell my therapist and no, I wasn’t born a man and I’m not harboring dead bodies. It’s nothing like that.

Oh well, that’s a whole other conversation about a whole other thing. My day will soon be complete. Good night to you all.

005-secret-2

2016-01-11-1452549907-2065143-secret

3 responses to “Making Myself Better Challenge… Day Two.

  1. I knew I had to marry my husband when he was the one person I couldn’t keep anything from. I blurt out every small and large truth to him, and I know every one of my “secrets” (or, share we say, selectively delivered truths) is safe with him.

Leave a Reply

