Fate’s Funny Ways… And Maybe Something New.

Still raining and now it’s cold which would be great if I was buried in my blanket at home but I am not. I am sitting at my desk staring out the window and watching the parking lot flood. The rain still calms me though so there’s that.

Yesterday was a strange day. It started with an email, at work, from my ex and a poem. It still shocks me that I can not reply to him at all and he still has the patience to continue sending things to me. It was sweet but there will be no reply. However, it made me have this weird dream last night. At some point during the day, I realized that if I wanted to, I could be married right now and trying to have a child. If I was to say “eff this waiting crap” I could have all those things with him right now. I want all those things right now just not with him. Perplexing what life and fate has to offer isn’t it?

With that being said, here’s another twist of fate for you. So, the way my career has gone has been jobs have always kind of “fallen” into place. I’ve been search out and offered them because (and here’s where I won’t be humble) I’m good at what I do. What do I do? I take care of things. That sounds ominous right? Kind of like I’m in the mafia? But I’m a control freak who likes to ensure that something is done with perfection. So, at work, I’m a control freak perfectionist and it’s noticed. Not only do I take care of things but I enjoy taking care of people. This leads me to my next possible career choice.

Because my boss and his girlfriend were having issues I decided to jump in and try to help. While being helpful his girlfriend realized just how valuable I am. This led her to ask me yesterday if I’d work for her or the company she works for. This is an amazing job opportunity and one that I’m really considering. The best part here is that I would get to work from wherever I wanted to. What does that mean? I could move to Austin and be close to my BFF, my niece and wouldn’t have to hear “When are you moving here?” ever again. It would solve a lot of problems and my emotional health won’t be in so much turmoil. Win win right?

I’m reminded every single day that my presents here is not needed. I’m reminded that the person that I am is not appreciated what-so-ever so I’m just reminded of how much I don’t need to be here anymore. These past few days have just reminded me that THE friend’s presents in my life has nothing to do with me. I’m not even sure he knows the real me sometimes or what the hell to do with me. The small fact is, it’s the little things. I don’t expect grand gestures. I don’t expect his thoughts or feelings to change. I also don’t expect much of anything from him but the small things are what would make the most difference.

He was just a few feet away from me last night and didn’t even know, realize or care that he’d upset me because his stupid social media and women all across this great land were more important to keep his attention that doing three things that I’d asked. Yet again, proving why I don’t ask for shit. For the things that I’ve done for him and he can’t even do a few things that I ask. It’s bullshit. That parts not even about my “feelings” it’s about the smallest form of respect that you give to a “friend” which is why I don’t even think he respects me enough to call me a friend.

And yet, with all that, when I came home yesterday and saw him asleep on the couch, I was comforted. I was concerned and I was kicking myself because on our worst days with each other, our trying days, our miscommunications and our misunderstandings I still feel better when he’s around than when he’s not. How effed up is that?

When I talk to my therapist about our friendship she’s a bit perplexed too. Trust me when I say I try to give the most unbiased view of everything as well. She seems to think that there’s some deep seeded tensions between us, unspoken words and unmasked feelings. I keep trying to explain to her that there is not. These are my feelings and mine alone and that almost all that I’ve had to say, I’ve said. I have no unspoken words or unmasked feelings. She’s supposed to be a really great therapist too. Reviews, recommendations and a lot of research went into finding her and yet that is what she thinks. I can’t win for trying.

Regardless of all of that and all the things that I would do for him and because of him I HAVE to realize that none of it matters to him. NONE OF ANY OF IT. So, I have an interview next week that might just change my course of action right now and because my career has usually predicted the outcome of my current status, it could be fates way of pushing me in a direction that my heart doesn’t want to go in and that would be west about 150 miles and on to a new life. We shall see what happens in the next week. Fate has a tricky way of putting all kinds of things in my life. Lets see where this new chapter starts?…

Leave a Reply

