Romancing the Stoned…

I’ll share something that I rarely do. It’s a recipe. I’m a half-ass paleo. Yep, that’s me without the whole “In your face with it 24 hours a day” self. Tonight has been the first night in a long while that I decided to stay home and cook. While I’m actually a really good cook, I barely ever do. I have some sort of phobia of leftovers. It’s a thing, I swear. However, tonight, the spaghetti squash that I bought a while ago was giving me the saddest look so I decided to finally cook it and because it was awesome I’m going to give you my recipe at the end of this post, which was smashed together from about 5 different pins on pinterest.

Before my recipe I’ll let you about my day today. First, if I see one more heart shaped anything I’m going to stab it. I have never been a fan of a forced holiday even if it does promote love. Second, even when I was in a relationship with someone I’d usually choose to spend this day with friends that were single. It just made more sense. Do we really need a day to say, “Hey honey, I need to prove my love to you by buying you something expensive so in the hopes that you’ll reciprocate on steak and bj day?” I have no problem reciprocating but I also don’t need a day that tells me to do it. My boss was all excited about his steak and bj day and all I could think is, “Why does that only happen on one day of the year? That’s weird.”

I bring this up because an old FWB called the other day. He’d asked if I wanted to go to dinner. I couldn’t think of anything worse so I declined but he has been pretty pushy about it. He and I had LOTS of fun back in the day but we’d both gone our separate ways a long time ago. I finally just asked him what his deal was and his response was, “I’ve been dreaming about you lately. Nothing crazy but it made me miss you. You’ve been in my thoughts a lot lately.”

I understand the whole, “In your dreams” thing. Trust me but I’m not sure it always means that you need to see that person. Maybe it means that there’s unresolved issues or something. But what I do remember about him was that he was a romantic pothead. He was sweet but knowing we were just having fun he’d do these weirdly romantic things that I’d expect a boyfriend to do.

When I was telling someone about this today, it brought up the whole romantic or sexy conversation. I think he was trying to get pointers for his V-Day. I told him I was a bit weird but I write about what I think is sexy a lot. I guess I don’t really write about what is romantic to me. Sometimes they’re one in the same I guess. It’s been such a long time that I have no idea if any of these things would work on me anymore 😦 . That’s a sad thought. Also, I can’t even tell when someone is flirting anymore. I just assume they’re all being nice until they respond with some blatant outburst. That’s what I need, blatant outburst.

I just got of the phone with my friend from the northeast. He’d made the comment to me that I probably don’t want a “normal” life. I told him that the more and more I grow up the more I crave some sort of normalcy, some sort of routine. I do want that right now. The house, the 2.5 kids, the husband. I’m just not sure when or if that’s ever going to come. I know. I say that a lot. It’s just, when it was right in front of me, for the taking, I didn’t know I wanted it or wasn’t ready. So, I pray. I know what I want now. That should make things easier right?

Hope you’re all having a great week. I have no idea what my weekend has in store for me yet.

And below is the recipe if you’re interested.

1 spaghetti squash – (because I’m lazy) cook in the microwave for about 20 minutes. After 10 minutes stab it about 20 times but don’t stab yourself. It WILL be effing HOT so use a mitt or something. Then put it back in to cook for the remainder on the opposite side. Let it sit in the microwave for another few minutes. Put a pan on the stove. Put on low heat and add garlic, butter and lemon juice (a crap load). While that’s all merging together, cut the squash in two. It’s best to use a serrated knife or you might run the risk of it sliding and dropping on your foot which would suck because it’s hot and heavy. So you’d have a broken burnt foot. Then, with a fork scrape the crap out of the inside and dump in the pan. Turn the heat up a bit and since there will be so much squash, more than you’ll ever need, put more butter. I put some basil in there too and lemon salt. Cook for about another 10 minutes. Next, dump a crap load of parmesan cheese and turn off the heat. Now go do something for about 5 minutes, whatever. Now eat it and love it because you’ll be eating it for days. I’m not kidding. There’s a shitload of extra. Anyway enjoy that.

romancing-the-stove-cookbook

2 responses to “Romancing the Stoned…

Leave a Reply

