New Beginnings and The standard New Years post…

New Years Eve was a blast. There was alcohol, friends and new goals put in place. It was a great night that was salted with the abundance of friends, family and loved ones texting throughout the night wishing blessing upon blessing of good luck, health and happiness in the new year. There were many toasts and many things to be happy for and about.

We also observed many traditions, some where new and some I’ve been doing for years. The first one is to write about all the things that basically sucked about the year. This is to be done before midnight and we burned the list. Forgiveness and letting go is the basic mentality. Then, at midnight, we rush to eat 12 grapes symbolizing 12 months of good luck. Do you know how hard it is to shove 12 grapes in your mouth by 12:01. I’ve got a small mouth, which was confirmed by my dentist not my friends. Then we toasted with champagne, ate round fruit, kissed whatever we could find all while wearing new, red and pink polka dotted undies. The final tradition is to eat the “Good Luck” soup recipe that I concocted several years ago from several different recipes. While we do this, we’re writing our goals for the new year. It was quite a bit to do, in the span of just a few moments but it’s all done to ensure that the luck, prosperity and love will find us in the new year.

At the end of the day, I realize that we make up our own luck. It’s not about black eyed peas, grapes or new panties. It’s about how we choose to feel, how we choose to act and the things we choose to focus on through the year. And while it doesn’t erase everything that you actually want it to it still sets the ground work for a new year. That’s my whole processes this year, to make myself the best me I can be and not for anyone else. I need to do this because I don’t like to fail. I’m a control freak and things got out of control last year. I focused a lot on what I’d lost or things that I didn’t have any control over instead of focusing on the one thing that I can control and that’s me.

This isn’t about an entire overhaul because, truth is, I like myself and if the onslaught of texts at midnight was any indication of anything, many others have me in their hearts as well. This warms my slightly chilly heart. This makes me realize that one person, not wanting me in his life right now doesn’t matter because there’s way too many others that do. It also made me realize that if he ever wants to come back into my life then there’s absolutely room because I was sad to not have heard from him at midnight. So, he’ll never know this but he was thought of and fondly. There’s no negative emotions left because I left them in the last year.

I’m spending less of this year focus on the “dreams” that others suggested and shoved in my head. The dreams that I wanted but knew, deep down, would never come to fruition. I’m letting whatever happen, happen and I’m going to be “in the moment” more than ever. Being in the moment is something that I’ve always had problems with and sometimes it was because I was trying to distract myself from the moment that I was in but mostly it’s because I got bored easily. I’ve not gotten on to social media for months and that will continue. I’m not going to be distracted by texts, emails or calls while I’m spending time with others and I’m going to give myself a break when things do go as I expected them too.

I’m also not going to expect things or have any expectations. There’s no point in setting anything up for failure but rather I’d be surprised if a situation turns into something that was unexpectedly awesome. This leads me to another tradition that was started this year. One of the things that we had to write down was our favorite memories from last year and I realized that I had a hard time remembering anything. I couldn’t think of LOL moments, great times or my happiest memories. So, the Jar challenged was born. And when I say “born” I mean that it was stolen from pinterest or borrowed.

Basically we received large mason jars and in each one were tiny post it notes and a pen. The rules are these: Each time you receive a surprise gift, accomplish a goal, find the beauty in nature, have an actual LOL moment, a memory that you want to remember, a blessing or anything that made you smile you write it down on the post it and put it in a jar and you read them back next New Years Eve instead of focusing on the bad. I like this idea because it will remind me that my life isn’t as negative as I think it is or that good things happen to whether they are far between or not.

So, all in all, it was a great way to spend the end of an old year and the beginning of a new year. Now, my living room is full of clothes to go through. My wunderlist is full of to-do’s and my heart is full of love. I’m a big ball of fuzzy love today, which is actually the 2nd right now. I figure, you’ve got one day to recover from the year before and the 2nd is where it all starts.

I also need to focus on the fact that I can’t control anything else, that instant gratification is for immaturity and that I’m allowed to not be perfect. The people around me are not perfect and I love them just the same. But I do love the idea of revamping everything around me that I can control.

So, that’s my New Years day post. My wish is that you had an amazing night and that you were safe yet had a blast as well and if not, even if you had a low key night or even spent the evening with you, it doesn’t mean that your year will be filled with the same. No matter how you spent your night I send you all a blessing of a great new year, great memories and may your Jar project be overflowing with some of the greatest memories of your lifetime. I have extra jars and extra good luck soup if you need it.

Have a great night!

jar

original_heart-button-glass-jar-with-heart-message-tag

6 responses to “New Beginnings and The standard New Years post…

  1. I love these traditions–especially burning the bad list and keeping a jar collecting all the good moments and memories. Thank you for the inspiration to take on 2016 in an entirely new way!

  2. Pingback: Be Our Guest–In Which Orchidblue Endorses Bravery & Beauty – dearlilyjune

  3. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners
    and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be
    much more useful than ever before.

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with this.
    Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox.

    Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

