Grounding myself, yet again…

I realized that when my 80 year old neighbor says, “Haven’t seen you in a while. I was beginning to think you’d moved.” It’s probably time to ground myself. There’s plenty to do around the home anyway. Laundry, dishes, cleaning… Nothing really and truly fun but necessary anyway. This might actually be the last free weekend I have until the new year anyway. So, I’ve decided to go ahead and ground myself. I’ll have time to actually sit and watch TV for the first real time in forever. It might be nice.

Most of my shopping, this year has been online. I’d decided that a while ago when I realized that everyone was moving way too slow for me and it was just annoying me. I find myself trying to find a zen zone a lot lately. Luckily, I’ve had some very generous clients this year from sports tickets, concert tickets to lots of extra cash. This allows me to really find some nice gifts for others this year. I’m not really one for treating myself to something extravagant although, I did purchase some very nice 1800 count sheets which I plan on passing out in this weekend. Aside from that I splurge on makeup but that’s about it. It’s not that I can’t be a snob, because I can be but I’d rather buy things that my friends or family wouldn’t usually buy.

For years now, I’ve sent out an email to close family and friends and asked them for their top five gifts that they want. I usually try to buy 3 or 4 items each. This tradition started because I realized that without lists, you just really start to see how much your family (especially) really doesn’t know about you at all. So instead I thought it would be a lot better to just say this is what I want or need now you tell me your list. It’s worked out much better but there’s still things that I’d put on my list that no one has gotten me or that I’ve never done.

I’ve always wanted to see a drive in movie, never have.
I want another puppy but I realize that it’s mean right now because I’m never home.
I want one weekend away, anywhere, where I don’t have to do a thing.
I’d like someone to help me finish my book.
I’d like free personal training FOREVER!
I’d like a family, a man and a child of my own… It’s weird to say that now because for so long I pushed this notion away probably because none of the boys I knew were the ones I wanted in my “ever after”.

Those are just a few but I’d settle for the practical things right now like, someone coming and hauling all my donations to Goodwill or my laundry or my dishes… See, I’m not hard to please 🙂

The last one on my “non-practical list”, this one my friend and I talked about at dinner the other night. He seems to think it’s totally appropriate to just go into some bar and get knocked up by some random. I have absolutely no desire to just get injected by someone that I don’t even know. A friend, I’d consider but not a no one. The only things he’s right about on this one is that it would be easy to do but that’s not my style. If I’m going to co-parent, I at least need to respect that person and care for that person. We don’t have to actually be “together” either. Aside from the fact that I’m easily annoyed, I also have people A.D.D. so I’d need space, a lot.

I’m not actually sure how serious he was about all that but it was an interesting conversation anyway and a strange one at that since he’s more like my brother than a friend. But I move on… This is probably the part in life when I’m supposed to just give up, and give in to whatever destiny or fate has to offer. I’ll see how that works.

I’m kinda looking forward to my grounding. 🙂 We’ll see how far that gets.

Hope you’re all having a great day.

5ca1a702ac687401b3217ff5d3b68df2

Leave a Reply

