The resolution of sin…

The other day I’d said I wished that I’d never stolen a pack of thumb tacks for my neighbor when I was young. I meant that. Its sounds strange but there’s few things that I actually, truly consider going back and changing. But obviously you can’t so you have to make amends for the sins you commit.

A few years ago, one of my employees (who’s extremely religious) and I were speaking about the bible and religion and spirituality. He actually speaks at a Spanish sermon each Wednesday and Sunday night. He understand that my beliefs are not fully on the path of his beliefs but he knows that I try to follow as much of the ten commandments as I possibly can, hence the forgiving of the stealing.

So, lets take a look at these…

You shall have no other gods before Me.
You shall not make idols.
You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.
Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy.
Honor your father and your mother.
You shall not murder.
You shall not commit adultery.
You shall not steal.
You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
You shall not covet.

You shall have no other Gods before Me: I do believe in God and one God alone but I also believe that there’s so much more than the bible. Have you ever read any of the other books? I’ve had deep discussions with my boss who’s Muslim and he’s taught me a lot about his beliefs. I am so intrigued by each and every cultures, their believes and their spirituality and I find it selfish to discount everything else just because it doesn’t fit into this package that’s been drawn up years before us.

You shall not make idols: This to me is a lot like the answer above.

You shall not take the name of the Lord your God in vain: While I am guilty of this I don’t do it any longer. I did it much more as a teenager before I really knew what disrespect that brought out. Even now, if by accident, when I do say something that’s close I feel the guilt.

Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy: I’m not so good at this. I have been to church a lot more than any of my family and I used to go twice a week when my Grandmother was still alive. I’m not even sure where my spiritual home would be anymore. I have no direct designation as far as faith is concerned but love to learn any and all of the traditions, scripture and beliefs.

Honor your father and your mother: If by honoring them they mean respecting them, this is absolutely something that I need to work on. There’s a lot of my childhood which can be blamed on my parents but at some point you have to forgive and move on. It’s been years. I’m sure that I’ve moved on but there’s still residual blame that probably needs to be worked on. I will need help with that one day.

You shall not murder: Well, this one, I’ve lived up to (so far). Unless someone hurts a friend or a family member I think I’m safe here.

You shall not commit adultery: Again, I have lived up to this one as well. I’ve never cheater on nor been cheated on. I feel secure that this will never change. Nothing is worth ruining someone else’s happiness for an hour of sin.

You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor: Let’s all be honest with ourselves. We’ve all lied. Especially when you have a job that sometimes relies on it. Sad but true, however, I do not lie to those closest to me. Whether you consider holding the truth back as the same thing, I do not. Not only do I not lie to those closest to me but this is one of my biggest pet peeves.

You shall not covet: In this day and age I can understand why this one might be one of the hardest ones. There might always be something better out there but eventually you have to realize that what you might think is better isn’t especially if it’s some tangible item.

No one is perfect which is why we are all sinners. It’s easy to say someone’s a good person because they go to church but in truth, if they’re just going to appease someone or inflict some sort of idea as to what they of person they want to be seen as then it just defeats the purpose. I would rather kneel quietly beside my bed and speak to God and thank him, ask for forgiveness and pray to all those that I care about rather than walk into a church that seems to no longer be a “not for profit” establishment.

I understand that we are all angels and devils within our time on this earth. I understand that, as humans, we are all flawed. I also understand that spirituality and the relationship YOU have with God is what is important and if it doesn’t quite fit into some check box then that’s ok too. This doesn’t mean that i won’t find myself back at some denominational church on day confessing all my sins. It just means that for the time being this is what works for me…

What do you believe? What do you pray for? Who do you pray for? How many of those ten commandments above can you check off?

Just my thoughts tonight after a long day and some great conversations about spirituality. Good Night.

Angel devil

Leave a Reply

